I’m a huge fan of Little Dragon, I first discovered them through their Gorillaz collaboration (Empire Ants was one of the best songs on Plastic Beach in my opinion).

But it’s really the work they did withSBTRKT that got me to finally listen to their latest album, Ritual Union. It’s a great record, full of energy and brilliant vocals by Yukimi Nagano.

This music video for their song “Brush The Heat” is trippy to say the least. Interestingly, Yukimi Nagano’s father Yusuke Nagano and his creative partner OLGA directed it.

Announcing: Popshot Mag in the Shop & The July/August Mix

Over the last few months since we launched the shop we sort of shelved it and worried about bringing you more content, naturally this remains the main objective of Art Sponge. But we’d love to extend our promotion of great artists from purely showcasing to selling their art as well.

Today we’re happy to announce  the addition of a couple great issues from Popshot Magazine in the shop. As I mentioned a while back, Popshot is a beautifully designed poetry & illustration publication and we’ve previously featured works from an artist published in Popshot.

Along these lines, we’d like to expand the shop and introduce more indie visual art magazines of this caliber as well as works directly from artists featured on the site.

If you’re already selling artworks and would like us to help with expanding your distribution network, give us a shout!

Meanwhile, our monthly mixtape is long overdue and so much so that I’ve selected 16 songs instead of the usual 8 – to count for July & August!

You’ll find this mix to have an extremely eclectic selection of songs. From the soothing sounds of Nicolas Jaar, Washed Out, Austra or Tycho to the more energetic beats of Hudson Mohawke or The Glitch Mob; everybody should find something to their liking!!


1. Mornin’ – Star Slinger
2. Ants – edIT
3. Gluetooth – Hudson Mohawke
4. Trials of the Past – SBTRKT
5. Ritual Union -Little Dragon
6. I’ll Take Care of You – Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie XX
7. Lose It – Austra
8. Before – Washed Out
9. Hinnom, TX – Bon Iver
10. Colomb – Nicolas Jaar
11.Hours – Tycho
12. Embody – SebastiAn
13. Dystopia – Yacht
14. Monday [The Glitch Mob Remix] – Nalepa
15. Diesel Fluid (feat. Method Man, Trife Diesel and Cappadonna) – Wu-Tang Clan
16.I Ain’t No Joke – Eric B & Rakim

  • © 2013 Art Sponge